本教程描述如何将扫描图像转换成矢量艺术品。这一流程称为描摹或矢量化,可以用手工方式或使用自动工具完成。在本教程中,我们解释如何使用 Vector Magic 迅速简便地完成这一转换。

本教程适用于哪一种类型的图像?

本教程适用于:

  • 最初在纸张上绘制或印刷的艺术品扫描图

本教程适用于:

我学习本教程需要什么?

  • 本教程使用 Vector Magic 桌面版本。您可以从桌面应用程序页面下载试用版。

  • 在线版本与桌面版本中的全自动模式很相似。用户界面看起来略微不同,不提供透明度支持。只要记住这些注意事项,您也可以使用在线版本学习本教程。

是适用于将接受矢量化处理的扫描艺术品的最佳方法

扫描硬件和软件因制造商不同而异,因此我在讲述时将尽量使用概括性的词语。以下内容仅用作指南;请用您自己的硬件、软件和源材料试用,寻找适合您的特定情形的最佳选择。我已经找到:

  • 如果是黑色和白色灰度源材料,选择灰度扫描选项。

    • 请勿选择黑色和白色扫描模式,因为这将通过量化导致数据损失。
    • 请勿使用颜色扫描模式,因为这将导致扫描图中形状边界周围出现不理想的颜色项目。
  • 如果是颜色源材料,使用颜色扫描设置。
  • 关闭任何不清晰的蒙板或其他对比或边缘增强功能。尽管从美学角度来看此类功能确实能增强扫描结果的某些方面,但却会使之更难矢量化。
  • 核实您的扫描台清洁、无灰尘。
  • 按照 150-300 dpi 解析度扫描。对于典型的消费级扫描仪,按照超过 300 dpi 的解析度扫描几乎毫无意义,因为扫描仪在大多数情况下都会按照较高的解析度试图捕捉任何细节。我通常会为大多数扫描选择 150 dpi,尤其是如果您计划将结果位图矢量化。
  • 请勿在矢量化之前缩放、过滤或以其他方式改动原始扫描图。您可以将扫描图剪切成正确的大小,但更高级的操作通常只会从扫描图中删除信息。
  • 按照不同的解析度更仔细地查看扫描图质量

    为了说明扫描图的一些特征,我做了一点尝试。

    • 我发现一个有趣的公共领域凯尔特结设计矢量图像。您可以在这里下载 SVG 版本。以下是该文件的光栅化位图版本:
    • 接下来,我使用优质激光打印机打印了该文件,得到一张十分清晰、整洁的、填满 6 平方英寸的图像打印图。
    • 然后,我用消费级 Canon 扫描仪按照以下三种解析度扫描了该文件:150、300 和 600 dpi。

    在本节,我将描述我的研究结果。如同我在以上最佳方法一节中所述,我得出了用超过 300 dpi 解析度扫描毫无意义的结论。当然,用 600 dpi 解析度扫描会让您获得双倍大小的图像,但模糊程度也会双倍增加。

    扫描图本身过大,无法显示本教程中的内容,但以下是各种不同大小的链接:150 DPI300 DPI600 DPI

    放大图像边缘很有启发性。

    150 DPI
    300 DPI
    600 DPI

    如果是 150 dpi 解析度,边缘模糊基本上只有一个像素宽。如果边缘非常陡,则在扫描仪传感器上只能被一个像素看到。该像素应当是一些合适的灰色,取决于边缘实际跨越像素的跨度。

    如果是 300 dpi 解析度,模糊跨越两个或三个像素,说明存在一些模糊。尚不清楚这是否是因为物理传感器的限制所致,还是扫描仪或扫描仪软件进行的一些处理。在任何一种情况下,该图像的有效解析度均不是 300 dpi。

    同样,如果是 600 dpi 解析度,模糊跨越三个或四个像素,此类模糊结果应当被视为具有低得多的有效解析度。

    在这种情况下,我认为最好按照 150 dpi 解析度扫描。如果有更好的扫描仪,则可以按照 300 dpi 解析度扫描。

    正在矢量化扫描图

    我已经选择使用 150 dpi 扫描。我使用 Vector Magic 桌面版本按照以下步骤矢量化图像:

    • 用将图像拖放至应用程序的方法载入图像。
    • 选择“基本向导”。
    • 选择“带混合边缘的徽标”。
    • 选择“中”质量。
    • 选择“两种颜色”。
    • 选择“完成查看”。
    • 按照需要保存输出。

    正在评估结果

    总体而言结果很好。结果中有几个角略呈圆形,但原件中却是尖角,但大部分矢量化结果与原件十分吻合。可在此处下载来自该矢量化的 SVG 输出。

    以下屏幕截图显示结果的放大部分。第一个图像是矢量化结果,第二个图像是对应的位图部分,第三个图像是矢量路径覆盖在位图原件上。在该部分,结果看起来清晰、整洁,并明显很好地复制了原件的形状。

    低质量扫描图

    遗憾的是,并非所有源图像都像上面这个例子这样清晰和整洁。上一个例子是通过用激光打印机打印矢量图,然后立即重新扫描生成。下一个例子具有更大的挑战性。

    这个扫描图更具有代表性。扫描这个图像的人犯了一个错误,将扫描仪留在彩色模式,因此沿形状边界有彩色边缘工件。原件打印质量似乎很差,形状通常不规则,好像是手工绘制的。下方显示该图像缩小版本,可在此处查看高解析度版本。

    以下缩放视图显示该源图像构成的一些挑战。

    显然存在变色。白色形状上方带有蓝色,下方带有红色。边缘还看起来非常不规则。

    矢量化结果

    我还是使用 Vector Magic 桌面版本矢量化该图像。在这个例子中,我尝试“中”和“低”两种质量设置,查看结果。

    应当注意,当大图像(例如这个图像)被载入 Vector Magic 桌面版本时,程序对图像进行分析,以便确定是否需要缩小图像大小。请注意,使用的调整大小功能是经过仔细选择的,以便尽量通过有效地使用像素平均值改进质量。大多数商用位图编辑器中的调整大小功能不会按照这种方法完成缩放操作,因此请使用 Vector Magic 完成任何压缩操作。绝对不要在将位图载入 Vector Magic 之前放大位图。这样做只会降低结果的质量。

    可在此处查看结果:低(SVG)中(SVG)

    下面三个图像显示高度放大的原扫描图视图和两个矢量化结果。 第一个图像是原件,第二个图像来自低质量结果,第三个图像来自中等质量结果。

    这两种结果哪一种更好取决于个人喜好。低质量结果使用较少的节点,结果是较简单的几何图形,而中质量结果更忠实地重建几何图形,但使用较多的节点。我个人喜爱中输入质量结果,但我认为两种结果各具特色。

    我包括了一个来自中质量结果路径覆盖在位图上的最终图像。与以往一样,您可以看到,路径与源位图十分吻合。这种特征是 Vector Magic 相对于其他自动矢量化工具的一个极大的优势。

    结论

    本教程为如何使用Vector Magic桌面版本以最佳方式矢量化扫描图提供指南和建议。 提供了多种实用提示,以便帮助您充分利用您的源材料和扫描仪。 下面显示矢量化扫描图的两个例子:第一个图像是清晰优质原件的优质扫描图,第二个图像是低质量原件的低质量扫描图。

    我极力建议您亲自试一试。如果适当地使用,Vector Magic 可以成为强有力的矢量化扫描图工具。


预剪裁

您的图像大小超过大小限制。 为了获得最佳结果,请将图像剪裁至您希望矢量化的部分。

尺寸限制


原始图像

尺寸:
纵横比:
百万像素:

已剪裁的图像

尺寸:
纵横比:
百万像素:
已剪裁的图像超过尺寸限制,将会按照尺寸限制缩放。
达到尺寸限制,保留全分辨率。

Javascript 错误 :-(


帮助我们纠正这个问题

Easily Convert Bitmap Images To Clean Vector Art

Log In | Sign Up

Forgot Password

Vectorizing Scans

What does this tutorial describe?

This tutorial describes how to convert a scanned image into vector art. This process is called tracing or vectorization, and can either be done manually or using an automatic tool. In this tutorial, we explain how to use Vector Magic to perform this conversion quickly and easily.

What kind of images does this tutorial apply to?

This tutorial does apply to:
  • Scans of artwork that was originally drawn or printed on paper
It does not apply to:

What do I need to follow this tutorial?

  • This tutorial uses Vector Magic Desktop Edition. You can download a trial version from the desktop application page.
  • The Online Edition is very similar to the Fully Automatic mode in the Desktop Edition. The user interface looks slightly different, and there's no transparency support. With those caveats in mind, you can also use the Online Edition to follow this tutorial.

Best practices for scanning art that will be vectorized

Scanning hardware and software varies between manufacturers, so I will keep my remarks as general as possible. The following remarks are guidelines only; please experiment with your particular hardware, software, and source material to find the best choices for your particular case. I have found:

  • For black and white or grayscale source material, choose the grayscale scanning option.
    • Do not choose the black and white scan mode, as this results in loss of data through quantization.
    • Do not use the color scan mode, as this leads to undesired color artifacts in the scan around shape boundaries.
  • For color source materials, use the color scan setting.
  • Turn off any unsharp mask or other contrast or edge-enhancing features. While such features do enhance certain aspects of the scanned result from an aesthetic perspective, they only make it harder to vectorize.
  • Make sure your scan bed is clean and dust free.
  • Scan at 150-300 dpi. For typical consumer-grade scanners, it rarely makes sense to scan at higher than 300 dpi, as scanners are mostly hallucinating any details at a higher resolution anyway. I would typically choose 150 dpi for most scanning, especially if you intend to vectorize the resulting bitmap.
  • Do not scale, filter, or otherwise alter the raw scan before vectorizing. You may crop it to the correct size, but more advanced operations typically only serve to remove information from the scan.

A closer look at scan quality at different resolutions

In order to illustrate some of the characteristics of scans, I've done a little experiment.

  • I found an interesting public-domain vector image of a Celtic knot design. You can download the SVG version of this here. Since most web browsers can't display vector graphics, here is a rasterized bitmap version of that file:
  • Next, I printed that file using a high-quality laser printer. This resulted in a very crisp, clean print-out of the image, filling a 6 inche square.
  • Then, I scanned this using a consumer-grade Canon scanner at three resolutions: 150, 300, and 600 dpi.

In this section, I will describe my findings. As I indicated in the best practices section above, I concluded that it doesn't really make any sense to scan at higher than 300 dpi. Sure, scanning at 600 dpi, gives you an image of twice the size, but it is also twice as blurry.

The scans themselves are too large to show in-line in this tutorial, but here are the links to the various sizes: 150, 300, and 600.

Zooming in on an edge in the image is instructive.

150 dpi 300 dpi 600 dpi

In the 150 dpi case, the blurring at the edge is essentially just one pixel wide. This is how it should be. If the edge is infinitely sharp, then it should only be seen by one pixel in the scanner's sensor. That pixel should then be some appropriate gray, depending on how far across the pixel the edge actually lay.

In the 300 dpi case, the blurring spans two or three pixels, indicating that some blurring has occurred. It is not clear whether this is due to limitations of the physical sensors or some processing done by the scanner or the scanner software. In either case, the effective resolution of this image is not 300 dpi.

Likewise in the 600 dpi case, where the blurring spans three or four pixels. Again, such a blurry result should be considered to have a much lower effective resolution.

In this case, I think it would make the most sense to scan at 150 dpi. In cases where a better scanner were available, it might make sense to scan at 300 dpi.

Vectorizing the scan

I have elected to use the 150 dpi scan. Using Vector Magic Desktop Edition, I vectorize it with the following steps:

  • Load the image by dragging and dropping it onto the application.
  • Select the "Basic Wizard."
  • Select "Logo with Blended Edges."
  • Select "Medium" quality.
  • Select "Two Colors."
  • Select "Done Reviewing."
  • Save the output as desired.

Evaluating the result

By and large, the result is very good. There are a few corners that are slightly rounded in the result but that are sharp in the original, but for the most part the vectorized result matches the original quite well. The SVG output from this vectorization may be downloaded here.

The screen shots below show a zoomed in section of the result. The first image is the vectorized result, the second image is the corresponding section of the bitmap, and the third image is an overlay of the vector paths on top of the bitmap original. In this section, the result appears crisp and clean, and clearly reproduces the original shape very well.

A low quality scan

Unfortunately, not all source images are as crisp and clean as the previous example. That example was generated by printing a vector graphic with a laser printer and then immediately scanning it back in. The following example is much more challenging.

This scan is much more typical of scans. The person who scanned it made the mistake of leaving the scanner in color mode, so there are color edge artifacts along the shape boundaries. The original print quality appears to have been poor, and the shape is generally irregular, as though it were hand drawn. A size-reduced version of the image is shown below, and the full resolution version may be found here.

The following zoom view illustrates some of the challenges of this source image.

The discoloration is clearly visible. The tops of the white shapes are tinted blue and the bottoms red. The edges also appear highly irregular.

The vectorized result

Again, I use Vector Magic Desktop Edition to vectorize this image. In this case, I try both "Medium" and "Low" quality settings to see how they turn out.

It should be noted that when a large image, such as this one, is loaded into Vector Magic Desktop Edition, the program analyzes the image to determine whether it makes sense to reduce the size of the image. Please note that the resize function that is used is very carefully selected to improve the quality as much as possible through effective use of pixel averaging. Most resizing features in commercial bitmap editors do not perform scaling operations in this way, so please rely on Vector Magic to perform any shrinking operations. And never increase the size of a bitmap before loading it into Vector Magic. Such efforts only ever reduce the quality of the result.

The results are available here: low (SVG), medium (SVG).

The next three images show highly zoomed-in views of the original scan and the two vectorized results. The first is the original, the second is from the low result, and the third is from the medium result.

Which of the two results is better is a matter of preference. The low result uses fewer nodes and results in a simpler geometry, while the medium reconstructs the geometry more faithfully but uses more nodes. I personally prefer the medium input quality result but I can see the merits of both.

I have included one final image of the paths from the medium result over the top of the bitmap. As usual, you can see that the paths very closely follow the source bitmap. This characteristic is one of the great strengths of Vector Magic relative to other auto-vectorization tools.

Conclusions

This tutorial has provided guidelines and advice for how to best vectorize scans using Vector Magic Desktop Edition. A number of practical tips were provided to help you get the most out of your source material and your scanner. And we showed two example of scans being vectorized: the first was a high quality scan of a crisp good-quality original, and the second was a low-quality scan of a low-quality original.

I strongly encourage you to play around with this. Vector Magic can be a powerful tool for vectorizing scans if used properly.